Dr Richardson Graduation

Dr. Kathy Brittain Richardson, professor of communication, was named provost in February 2013. 

Dr. Richardson joined the Berry faculty in 1986 and has taught courses in media law, media ethics, journalism and public relations in the communication department. She served as associate provost and dean of academic services at Berry from 1999-2007 and was interim provost in 2007-2008 before returning full time to the classroom in 2009.  She has been awarded the Carden Award, the Garrett Award, the Teaching Excellence Award, and the Martindale Award from Berry. She was named as an honorary member of the Berry Alumni Association in 2014.

She is a co-author of Media Ethics: Cases and Moral Reasoning, which is in its 9th edition, and Applied Public Relations: Cases in Stakeholder Management, now in press for its 3rd edition.  Dr. Richardson has been editor of Journalism and Communication Monographs and is the current co-editor of the National Forensic Journal. She is a member of the editorial board of Mass Communication & Society and the Journal of Mass Media Ethics. Dr. Richardson has published journal articles and book chapters in media ethics, product promotion, visual imagery, communication pedagogy and student-press regulation. 

Dr. Richardson is an active member of the Association for Education in Journalism and Mass Communication and has served as head of the Mass Communication and Society Division.  In 2012, she received the Professor of the Year award from the Small Programs Division of AEJMC. In 2014, she was recognized as the Alumna Scholar of the Year by the Grady College of Journalism and Mass Communication of the University of Georgia.

Dr. Richardson earned a bachelor of arts degree in communication and religion/philosophy, summa cum laude, from Shorter College and a master’s in journalism and a doctorate in mass communication from the Grady College of Journalism and Mass Communication at the University of Georgia. She completed additional graduate coursework in communication at the University of Oklahoma.